Frivolity is hard work

  

 

 

  
Yes, but it is the best kind of hard work. Also, frivolity is a fun word to write. 

Lately, I have been experimenting with a new pen. It’s a Pentel brush pen in “light black.” I picked it up on a whim a few weeks ago, and I’m starting to learn how to use it. 

It is a really pleasant writing tool to work with, but is so very different from the oblique pointed pen that I’ve used for so long. The hardest part is getting used to the way the bristles follow the direction of the pen. I’m trying to learn how to curve around a letter without a clumsy hiccup where the brush rolls over. When I use my steel nib pen, there is no rolling motion. Obviously, the metal pen stays put. 

The writing is also quite a bit larger and looser than the formal pointed pen I’m so used to. Making it look free and graceful without being sloppy is really difficult. But, I’m really enjoying the process of learning how to loosen up and write just for the fun of it.  

Frivolity is hard work

Leave a reply

